Enough Already

Had enough of politics and those outside the Fu-sphere.  Let us take a trip through the movies.  Over to IMDB and a random quote:

 HARRIS
All I know is, on the day your plane was to leave, if I had the power, I would turn the winds around, I would roll in the fog, I would bring in storms, I would change the polarity of the earth so compasses couldn’t work, so your plane couldn’t take off.

L.A. Story, pretty good movie.  Mr. Fu likes Steve Martin, almost always a good movie there, and good for some laughs.  Scan through the credits, we find Frances Fisher, one time squeeze of Clint Eastwood.  Clint directed the tremendous film Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil, starring John Cusack, and featuring a great performance by Kevin SpaceySpacey‘s characterization of Jim Williams has become iconic for Mr. Fu for the accent and attitude of a Southern gentlemen, much like Rhett Butler.  That style would have done well for a version of Doc Holliday, if Val Kilmer had not already nailed the role in Tombstone And why the hell did Costner do Wyatt Earp? Guess it was a timing thing as it came out only a year after Tombstone. But Wyatt Earp did have Adam Baldwin, our man Jayne.

Anyway, John Cusack also starred in one of the funniest movies about assassins ever,  Grosse Pointe Blank. This movie answers the burning philosophical question, “What happens when an assassin goes back home for his ten year high school reunion?”  And we will leave our whirlwind tour of the movies with a quote from Grosse Pointe Blank:

Marty: I was sitting there alone on prom night, in a goddamn rented tuxedo, and my whole life flashed before my eyes. And I realized finally, and for the first time, that I wanted to kill somebody. So I figured since I loved you so much, it’d be a good idea if I didn’t see you anymore.

Watch it, you will thank Mr. Fu….

Leave a Reply

