Coulter Controversy

I usually agree with Captain Ed, but this time I think he and several others are off:

However, there is a HUGE difference between that and explicitly saying that these women are "enjoying" their husbands' deaths. It implies that they have reveled in their murders, and cared less for their husbands than for a few moments in the spotlight. It's cruel, it's irrational, and it's unnecessary for the point she makes. I don't care if she goes on then to argue the points I made above — she lost me when she lost her humanity.

Ann really can be better than this, and she should apologize.

I started thinking about this, and frankly my gut reaction was that Ann Coulter was dishing out everything that these women deserved for publicly wrapping themselves up in their supposed moral superiority as victims / survivors similar to Cindy Sheehan.  But thinking about Ed's commentary I was struck by his sticking on the word "enjoying" and his saying that Coulter had lost her humanity.

From Dictionary.com: 2. To have the use or benefit of: enjoys good health.

They certainly are "enjoying" their husbands death in this sense.  The combination of their (to be kind) leftist positions and the media attention they "enjoy" is a benefit to them via the deaths of their husbands.

And if Ann has lost her humanity, then she will not apologize.  And if she is right, and I believe she is, then she definitely should not apologize.  Maybe her comment was tactless, though I do not think so, and I also do not think that it indicates that she has lost her humanity.

Leave a Reply

